Visitors to historic downtown Stuart will step back in time and walk amid the quaint shops, galleries and restaurants. A self-guided walking tour pamphlet is available to familiarize visitors with the early days of this once small fishing village. Points of interest include the River walk, the Post Office Arcade, the Lyric theatre, the Stuart Heritage Museum and more.
The North and South forks of the St. Lucie River are tropical wonderlands for those who want to take advantage of numerous boat cruises. With an annual average temperature of 72°, it's always a great time to enjoy the outdoors. One of the more popular events in Stuart is the annual Antique & Classic Boat Rendezvous. Each year, many beautiful vessels ranging in size from six to eighty feet in length take part in the event. The event is open to all types of traditional vessels either sail, steam, power or even hand-powered.
Other popular attractions include the old Martin County Courthouse that has been restored to its original 1937 architectural design and now houses two galleries; the Elliot Museum that houses a collection of American memorabilia dating back to 1865 and features the inventions of Sterling Elliot; and the B&A Flea Market, the Treasure Coast's oldest and largest flea market that has attracted vendors and customers for over 20 years.
Stuart was first settled in 1870, incorporated 1914 and chartered in 1925. Stuart was originally named Potsdam by Otto Stypman, one of the earliest settlers of Stuart. Otto, and his brother, Ernest, came to the city in 1892. They were originally from Potsdam, Germany. The Stypman brothers originally owned what is now known as "Downtown Stuart" and were large landowners. They started their fortunes here in pineapple farming. The name was changed to Stuart after the FEC railroad was established and was named after Homer "Jack" Stuart another early settler.